News    |    Search    |      CONTACT 

naglowek struktura


Commission on Quaternary Palaeogeography


Chairperson Marek Krąpiec
Deputy Chairperson
Deputy Chairperson
Dorota Nalepka
Włodzimierz Margielewski
Secretary Magdalena Moskal-del Hoyo


Though the commission was formed as part of the Kraków branch of PAN in 1979, it has functioned as part of the structure of PAU since 1993. Its roots lie in the Committee for Starunia Research and in its bulletin, Starunia, which first appeared in 1933. The commission unites disciplines that study the Quaternary, including geology, geomorphology, paleontology, and archaeology. The commission issues the yearbook Folia Quaternaria, which publishes papers on Quaternary palaeogeography, including neotectonics, the palaeoenvironmental aspects of prehistoric settlement, palaeoclimatology, palaeomalacology, and dendrochronology. The topics discussed at its meetings include the stratigraphy of Pleistocene and Holocene sediments, environmental changes, the age and dynamics of landslides, the conditions in which lacustrine chalk deposition occurs, and speleothem formation.

See the Folia Quaternaria page at:



Commission Members


    PAU Members
    Prof. dr hab. Stefan Witold Alexandrowicz
Prof. dr hab. Bolesław Ginter
Prof. dr hab. Janusz K. Kozłowski
Prof. dr hab. Marek Krąpiec
Prof. dr hab. Janusz Kruk
Prof. dr hab. Maria Łanczont
Prof. dr hab. Teresa Madeyska
Prof. dr hab. Leszek Marks
Prof. dr hab. Adam Nadachowski
Prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Niedźwiedź
Prof. dr hab. Krystyna Wasylikowa
    Commission Members
    Prof. dr hab. Zofia Alexandrowicz
Prof. dr hab. Witold Alexandrowicz
Prof. dr hab. Dariusz Ciszewski
Dr hab. Jacek Forysiak, prof. UŁ
Dr hab. Piotr Gębica, prof. UR
Dr Wojciech Granoszewski
Dr hab. Tomasz Kalicki, prof. UJK
Prof. dr hab. Piotr Kittel
Dr Piotr Kłapyta
Dr hab. Elżbieta Szychowska-Krąpiec, prof. AGH
Prof. dr hab. Henryk Kubiak
Dr hab. Maria Lityńska-Zając, prof. IAE PAN
Dr hab. Włodzimierz Margielewski, prof. IOP PAN
Dr hab. inż. Danuta J. Michczyńska, prof. UŚ
Dr hab. Adam Michczyński, prof. UŚ
Dr hab. Anna Michno, prof. UJ
Dr hab. Magdalena Moskal-del Hoyo
Dr hab. Przemysław Mroczek, prof. UMCS
Dr hab. Aldona Mueller-Bieniek
Prof. dr hab. Dorota Nalepka
Doc. dr hab. Andrzej Obidowicz
Dr Jacek Pawlyta
Prof. dr hab. Anna Pazdur
Prof. dr hab. Andrzej Rakowski
Dr Tadeusz Sokołowski
Dr hab. Renata Stachowicz-Rybka, prof. IB PAN
Dr hab. Jacek Szmańda, prof. PAN
Dr hab. Jan Urban, prof. IOP PAN
Dr hab. Agnieszka Wacnik, prof. IB PAN
Prof. dr hab. Adam Walanus
Dr hab. Jarosław Wilczyński, prof. ISEZ PAN
Dr hab. Piotr Wojtal, prof. ISEZ PAN
Prof. dr hab. Antoni Wójcik
Dr Jerzy Zasadni